Every edit is a lie.

Jean-Luc Godard

“I don’t think you should feel about a film. You should feel about a woman, not a movie. You can’t kiss a movie.”

Jean-Luc Godard

“If my film makes one more person feel miserable, I’ll feel like I’ve done my job.”

Woody Allen

“If my films don’t show a profit, I know I’m doing something right.”

Woody Allen

If you want a happy ending, that depends, of course, on where you stop your story.

Orson Welles

Filmmaking is a chance to live many lifetimes.

Robert Altman

Cinema should make you forget you are sitting in a theater.

Roman Polanski

Pick up a camera. Shoot something. No matter how small, no matter how cheesy, no matter whether your friends and your sister star in it. Put your name on it as director. Now you’re a director. Everything after that you’re just negotiating your budget and your fee.

James Cameron

Movies are something people see all over the world because there is a certain need for it.

Wim Wenders

Every great film should seem new every time you see it.

Roger Ebert

People come to Cannes just to advertise their films, not with a particular message. But the advantage is that if you go to the festival, you get so much press coverage in three days that it advertises the film for the rest of the year.

Jean-Luc Godard

I pity the French Cinema because it has no money. I pity the American Cinema because it has no ideas.

Jean-Luc Godard
